Project Jump Rope: Round 2!

Last week I created a blog post explaining that I was embarking on a journey to learn how to perform Double Unders with a jump rope. As explained before, a Double Under is where you allow the rope to pass under your feet twice before landing. I have made significant progress since my initial attempts, and I am excited to share with you what I have learned.

Failed Attempt

For this project, we are asked to ONLY use online resources. I am fairly new to Reddit. I mean, I know what it is, and I have stumbled upon it before, but have never intentionally set out to use it as a learning tool. I cannot believe I have been sleeping on this resource! I was able to find specific threads regarding people experiencing the same problems that I was.

In this forum I came across several tips such as Penguin Jumping (practice jumping without rope and touching your sides twice), jumping extremely high in the beginning, and links to videos that had fantastic tips. This thread serves as an excellent example of an affinity space for all things Crossfit. In an affinity space, people of all skill levels come together to share their knowledge on the subject. Participants in the thread operate under a chosen username which limits bias on race, class, gender, etc. and places the focus on the common endeavor (Gee, 2004).

Successful Attempt

The Gif above shows my first successful Double Under; however, I have not been able to string together more than one. This is my next goal. Since then, I have had to rest my leg as my left calf is extremely tight. I am excited to further explore Reddit and my other online resources. Once my leg is healed, I will be back at it again.

REFERENCES

CrossFit. (2015). From Single-unders to Double-unders with Matt Lodin [Video]. YouTube.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=192&v=4tsT6hDB6Aw&feature=emb_title

Gee, J. P. (2004). Situated language and learning: A critique of traditional schooling. Retrieved from https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.proxy2.cl.msu.edu/lib/michstate-ebooks/reader.action?docID=200413&query=. 

Grabetz, J. (2020). Animated GIF. [Photograph]. Giphy.
https://media.giphy.com/media/Lq0XFObmGv09qTiS1H/giphy.gif

Grabetz, J. (2020). Animated GIF(b). [Photograph]. Giphy.
https://media.giphy.com/media/gF26eXc5RbkA8jgvyH/giphy.gif

[TheCoatman]. (2018). Double unders! [Online forum post]. Reddit.
https://www.reddit.com/r/crossfit/comments/6mkmuv/double_unders/?utm_source=amp&utm_medium=&utm_content=post_body

Leave a comment